What started out as “the next album” in early 2020, got interrupted by the global COVID pandemic and historic, devastating fires in Oregon. But the music moved ahead, if haltingly, and became Days Like Today. Eight original songs by Mike and Carleen are complimented by two Bill Staines songs, a Tim Hardin classic, and one of Doc Watson’s most beloved instrumentals, written by John D. Loudermilk.

Mike and Carleen are joined by frequent collaborator, cellist Dale Bradley, percussionist Andy McCornack, and pianist Megan Perdue. See the liner notes (opens in new tab)

Track Listing

  1. Reason to Believe (Tim Hardin)
  2. House of Their Dreams (Carleen McCornack)
  3. Windy and Warm (John D. Loudermilk)
  4. Days Like Today (Mike McCornack)
  5. I Fell Asleep (Mike McCornack)
  6. Where I Live (Bill Staines)
  7. Blue River Home (Carleen McCornack)
  8. If I Had to Leave Today (Mike McCornack)
  9. Dog Walk (Mike McCornack)
  10. Old Dogs (Bill Staines)
  11. Because I Kind of Love You (Mike McCornack)
  12. Will the Penguins Remember Us (Mike McCornack)

The Musicians

Carleen McCornack – vocals, acoustic guitar

Mike McCornack – vocals, acoustic guitar, bass

Dale Bradley – cello

Andy McCornack – cajón

Megan Perdue – piano