Critic-At-Large Fred Crafts says “Sunshine Cake is chock full of heart-warming songs done in a wonderfully fresh and infectious way… This is music for the entire family.” Booklist called it “a lively, polished performance with plenty of child appeal.” Produced by Mike and Carleen McCornack, engineered by Don Ross, with cover art by Beverly Soasey. 1993, Alacazam! 1009; re-released Garden Variety Record Company, 2006. (CD).

Beverly Soasey’s imaginative artwork has added a key visual component to Mike and Carleen’s recordings. In her illustration for Sunshine Cake, Bev has given form to some of the wonderful characters that inhabit the songs, like Wooly Old Wally Walloo, Angela Bundy and the Crocodile.

Track Listing

  1. Angela Bundy (Mike & Carleen McCornack)
  2. Garden Song (Dave Mallet)
  3. Sunshine Cake (James Van Heusen – Johnny Burke)
  4. Man In The Moon (Carleen McCornack)
  5. Autumn Winds (Mike & Carleen McCornack)
  6. Wooly Old Wally Walloo (Mike & Carleen McCornack)
  7. Sun, Sun (Mike McCornack)
  8. Never Smile at a Crocodile (Jack Lawrence – Frank Churchill)
  9. Halley Came to Jackson (Mary Chapin-Carpenter)
  10. Mama’s Chair (Mike McCornack)

The Musicians

Carleen McCornack – guitar, vocals
Mike McCornack – guitar, banjo, keyboards, bass and vocals
Kevin McCornack – concertina, bassoon, harmonica
Dale Bradley – cello, bass


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sunshine Cake – CD”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.